About the Logging Museum
Before aviation giants, international coffee sirens and global tech companies dominated the economic scene of the Pacific Northwest the early economic drivers in the region were trains and timber. The logging museum at the Mt. Rainier Railroad seeks to tell the stories of the men, women and sometimes families that called railroad logging camps home in the early to mid 1900’s. The museum is a nonprofit organization operating under the direction of the Western Forest Industries Museum.
Most visitors arrive at the museum aboard a historic steam train. The Mt. Rainier Railroad operates weekly excursions May through October. All trains depart from the depot in Elbe, WA. The steam trains carry passengers through the forest and over the glacial fed Upper Nisqually River before arriving at the museum grounds. The museum located at 349 Mineral Creek Rd. Mineral, WA 98355 is the exclusive stop for train passengers. Passengers have approximately one hour to explore the exhibits before taking the return trip back to the Elbe depot.
Museum admission is included with the train ticket. The museum is open May through October on all train operating days and closes after the last train of the day leaves Mineral.
Visitors to the logging museum will see the most comprehensive collection of steam powered logging locomotives in North America! These hearty engines are testaments to the problem solving ingenuity required for navigating the challenging terrain of the rural West Coast forests. Imagine the precision machining required by hand of the early train crews to build and operate 80 tons of steel hauling additional tonnage of timber. From the tiny 14 ton Satsop to the giant 99 ton Heisler the House of Gears and Rod House are home to an impressive collection of rare steam engines.
Click on an image to begin the slideshow
Subscribe to learn, save and win!
Join our monthly newsletter.